Silk (tie) Dyed Eggs

Oh , once again I have been completely inspired by Pinterest. There were MANY interesting and fun and beautiful ways to color Easter eggs all over the site, but for some reason I was drawn to this one :Dye transfer from 100% silk ties. I think it seemed easy compared to some of the others that I came across such as  natural ways to dye eggs (i really do want to try that in the future),and not messy like glitter eggs (which i am all about some glitter!) .This really was simple and inexpensive.  Here is the link to the original instructions from ourbestbites.com, which also has TONS of other fabulous crafts, recipes, tutorials and such. I suggest you check it out.

I bought ties at the thrift store for $1 each. You can usually find the tag that says what they are made of inside of the small end of the tie. Make sure they are 100% silk or All Silk.

Cut pieces large enough to cover the eggs. Wrap the eggs as tight as you can with the bright side of the fabric on the inside, touching the egg. Use a twist tie to secure the fabric, then repeat the process with a lightweight whitish fabric. I used an old pillow case.

Once all of your eggs are covered, place in a pot and cover with water and about 1/4 cup vinegar. Bring to a boil and cook for about 20 minutes. Remove the eggs, let cool BEFORE you unwrap them.

I gathered my family around the table  so we could all see the results. They weren’t at my house when my husband and I wrapped them so their curiosity made it even more exciting!  This is definitely a project I will do again! 

Categories: (P)interesting ideas, DIY | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

