leftover halloween candy cookies (no eggs needed!)

After all of the fuss over food during the holidays, I have been trying to be a good girl and cut back on -at least- sweets.I am going to be completely honest with you…. this is NOT an easy thing for me to do. I have been doing very well, except for about a week ago, my husband (who also has a sweet tooth , but will continue to deny it) jokingly , told me that I forgot to make chocolate chip cookies after dinner one night. I was not able to stop thinking about homemade chocolate chip cookies after that. BUT! I refused to buy what I needed to make them… and then the craving finally won!

So… the other night I went into the kitchen to see what I could come up with for cookies. I had only a small amount of chocolate chips,( but quite a bit of leftover chocolate Halloween candy), flour, sugar (brown & white), butter, salt, raisins, and oatmeal. But wait! NO EGGS!  I decided to look up cookie recipes that don’t call for eggs. I merged a few together, changed some things around, and came up with this!

DELICIOUS (LEFTOVER) CANDY COOKIES !
  • 1/2 stick butter (softened)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla flavoring
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 cups old fashioned oat meal
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1 1/2 mixed crushed candy bars ( i used snickers, milky way, 3 musketeers , and m&m’s –do not crush the m&m’s)

Directions:

  1. Beat butter or margarine, sugars and vanilla together until they are light and fluffy.
  2. Add flour and salt
  3. mix well.
  4. Dissolve baking soda in boiling water and add to mixture
  5. Stir in rolled oats, raisins and chocolate chips.
  6. Drop by teaspoonful onto un-greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 10-12 minutes. (make sure you allow enough room between cookies, they will spread)
  7. Don’t over cook
  8. ENJOY!!
** If you are using candy with caramel, they will stick to the cookie sheet. Be sure to remove them before they completey cool, or you will have a difficult time
*** cookie baking secret- always preheat your cookie sheets to make sure your bottoms don’t burn
Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

