the table

I have always dreamed of having a large gathering table… unfortunately you can only have a table as large as the space you put it in. I have a space… it is not large. It IS long. The best option for the space was to create our own table. I am not good at building things (well, actually I have not really tried.) My husband IS good at building things. “Honey, will you build me a dining room table, pleeeeaaase? ”  he agreed !

We came up with a few ideas and changed our minds a few times… but we knew we wanted something kind of vintage and rustic looking. farmhouse style? maybe… Then I found this photo on Pinterest.com. TABLE INSPIRATION!!

After I decided that this was the perfect inspiration for what I wanted , I showed it to my husband who incorporated his ideas as well. He used some decorative table legs from an old table that we had  that was in the last of it’s life (but the legs are still very sturdy!)  He beat up some wood that we bought brand new at the hardware store to make it look old, and attached all of it together. Then handed it over to me so I could paint it. I blended two of the colors that i had used on the walls in the house ( a skyish blue and a light pine tree color) and came up with what is now my most favorite shade of aqua/ teal. It has a very vintage/European feel to it. Here is the final project ( well, almost final. I think I have decided that I want to varnish the top)

Categories: (P)interesting ideas, DIY | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “the table

  1. angela

    really amazing!!!

  2. awesome! can’t wait to eat at it!

  3. Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

